“All teenagers smoke pot”

Alright…. I’m gonna call bull shit on this one.

Yes, been a while since I posted and sorry my return to blogging starts a little coarsely. I am sick of the low bar of expectation we project on our North American middle-class youth.

My region leads the country with dope smokin teens. Yet not one study confirms even 50% of teens smoke weed. The highest I’ve seen is in the high 30’s.

Furthermore, there are many, many teens I know who perform at very high levels of sports, academics, and humanitarian endeavours who do not have the time or inclination to hang out with Mary Jane.  My kids included.  They certainly are not immune to temptation, but they have said, “where would I find the time”.

Why am I a little upset? Well, some teens I know well have taken to it recently, arguing that “everyone does it”.  And we hear adults rationalize it this same way.

While I recognize that a lot of people do, I will argue that most don’t. It is not “typical”. Nor is it very common among high performers. In my early 20s, I worked shoulder to shoulder for 2 years with a group of 6 study partners when I was in school. We all graduated with honours, were recruited into jobs immediately, and not a one of us smoked weed. On the other hand, there was a small group of guys who frequently did sow up high and not a one did well. They were a joke.  They were lazy and got lousy marks.

I know my example is far from scientific but it is a vivid example from my experience.

Fast-forward to today, and In my fast-paced pressure-cooker workplace, none of the high performers use weed. Or if they do, they are masters of disguise and have 30 hours in their days. Yet we just let a guy go who admitted to smoking weed daily. He did not get let go because of his weed-smoking, but because he was easily one of the laziest, low performing people I have ever seen try to enter my field.

I am sick of our culture rationalizing its normalcy and endorsing its use among teens. I know the agony of parents who’s kids are unemployed lay-about dope smokers because they let their teens get away with it. Not that it an be prevented by every parent, but how many parents go along with it because thy think it is “normal”.

The teens I am dealing with right now have rationalized its normalcy. They think that they are doing well enough so smoking a bit of weed shouldn’t harm them. This breaks my heart because they are limiting their potential. They are settling for the mediocre bar of achievement at a 6 out of 10 effort and result. They appear to be settling and it is breaking my heart.

And maybe I feel I am failing them as an adult influence.

I see kids from tight-knit immigrant families out-work, out-study, and out-succeed many of our Canadian-born youth. We have a young Korean kid in one of our divisions at work… About age 23.  He had worked in his family’s restaurant since he was 12 and all the way through school.  He now works for us and 5 Division-Managers in our company all want him on their teams.  He has 5 jobs waiting for him while many guys can’t even get 1.

I guess I am just sick of it. The bar is too low. Our youth deserve better from our culture.

About Chaz

Husband, father, brother, son, friend. Sober member of AA. Grateful for the life God gave me and for the happy struggle of recovery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “All teenagers smoke pot”

  1. I’m with ya 100% on this one Chaz. (Hey, I didn’t know you were Canadian too!)

    The “everybody does it” mantra doesn’t fly with me. I will let my kids know that throughout their lives. Being true to oneself is key – a lesson I didn’t learn until I was 40, when the liquor stopped flowing. I am still learning it today.

    I smoked marijuana a handful of times in my life, and yeah, not much gets done after that. It impairs in many ways. Here in Toronto, I ride my bike to work daily, and I can’t tell you how many weed sessions I pass on each trip. Many, if not most, are from teens huddled somewhere. It’s not a big deal here in the city. People walk around with joints as if it were nothing. It’s become normalized in many ways. Which goes to your point in some way…rationalization and justification becomes easier.

    We too have a lot of Korean students who fit in and excel here, whereas some of the partying Canadian born youth take things for granted here, and wonder why they have a hard time keeping a job. Oh well.

    Thanks for this.

    Paul

  2. Chaz says:

    Hey Paul…. Thanks for your reply. Yes, I am Canadian. In B.C.

    Glad to hear I am not the only one who sees things this way. I bet there are more of us than speak up.

    Glad to hear you express your maximizing life through cycling. Good for you!

    The principle of this mediocrity is a threat to our culture entirely I think. I am more concerned about the attitude around weed than I am about the laws around it. In fact, I am not sure I am concerned that much about the laws other than if the laws were in favour, it would be an implied endorsement of weed to our culture, and especially our youth.

    There undoubtedly are a number of people who can function on this stuff. They are the exception though and it is a travesty to hold them up as the norm to impressionable youth. I have seen multitudes more who do not function. Laziness and lethargy is what I see way too often.

    Western culture continues to slide into mediocrity. We are going to get our teeth handed to us by other cultures in years to come. I believe we are losing ground already.

    While we are sitting around acting entitled to our weed and whatever else, we will be left behind.

    I will not cosign or participate in this. For me and my house, we will strive, achieve, and not accept less than the best we can be.

Leave a Reply

