News Years Day Resolution

Happy New Year!

I woke up this morning realizing I now had the family cold. I was hoping to avoid it this year but it was undeniable.

I didn’t want to waste the day laying in bed and I knew I had enough strength to do at least something. So I resolved, not for a year, but for a day, to maintain a positive mindset and use with gratitude the limited energy I had for today.

I am pleased to report that it was a highly productive day, in spite of a slower pace.

It occurred to me that a reason resolutions are seldom carried out is that the scope is too big. Any of us who have recovered from alcoholism have come to learn that we can resolve for a day far better than a year.

Just for today, I made a resolution and accomplished it!

A great way to star the year!

About Chaz

Husband, father, brother, son, friend. Sober member of AA. Grateful for the life God gave me and for the happy struggle of recovery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to News Years Day Resolution

  1. Great way to start the year (the thought process, not the cold!)
    I do agree with what you said – terms like “forever” and “this year” can be a bit, um, *daunting* for this alcoholic, so why not put it into bite-sized, easily digestable pieces? Sure – today is a good size. Fits all. Fits me. Now while I don’t think about drinking daily – the mental obsession isn’t there like it was when I first got sober – there are other things that I need to watch and pray for and seek guidance on. Character defects that love to wave their hands in the air and bring attention to themselves. Ugh. so today I can be a bit kinder, a bit more gentle, a wee bit more patient.

    Today is what I have to play with šŸ™‚

    I hope you feel better…and have a wonderful Happy New Year.

    Blessings,
    Paul

    • Chaz says:

      Tanks Paul. And a Happy New year to you too!

      Yes, today is all any of us have. And that is saying no small thing. Each day can be amazing, even the bad ones. We can use the bad ones to set up for the victories of getting through them.

      “Adversity does not happen to us, it happens for us”, as a teacher I enjoy often says.

  2. joedalio says:

    You can’t go wrong doing things one day at a time. That may become a resolution in itself šŸ™‚ Have a wonderful 2014!

Leave a Reply

