Goodbye George Jones

I learned today of the passing away of George Jones on April 26th, 2013.

I had known of him for many years and in recent years become a fan.  ‘Why’? I wonder.  Perhaps because he is widely documented as an imperfect man, and often a scoundrel.

He had been nicknamed, “No-Show Jones”, for a period due to his late concert cancellations or simple no-shows.  Reportedly due to him being caught up partying or carrying on in some fashion.  What a selfish jerk, no?

Yet, isn’t our world made up of selfish jerks?  Selves included?  And aren’t we selfish jerks the one’s God reached out to and loved anyway?

I too had been a No-Show Scoundrel when I was drinking.  God loved me anyway.

George, you will be sadly missed.  Thank you for your contribution to our world for over 50 years.

About Chaz

Husband, father, brother, son, friend. Sober member of AA. Grateful for the life God gave me and for the happy struggle of recovery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Goodbye George Jones

  1. Caddo-Jael says:

    What a lovely humble tribute–to All of us, imperfect yet loved by God. God bless you, nephew–love, Auntie Caddo

  2. Tommy Simpson says:

    He might have passed on, but he continues to live in his music.

  3. Thanks Chaz. Some years ago I had one of the most powerful urges to drink listening to a George and Tammy song I had not heard for decades. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry! George was a good one and will be missed. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

