Anxiety and Depression

“Hello darkness my old friend(s)” 🙂

I had been revisited by these two familiar friends recently.  I didn’t panic, I didn’t jump in with both feet.  I just said, “Oh, you guys again”, and sought a new solution.

Pharmaceutical anti-depressants have never worked well for me.  Side effects negate their value.  Maybe there is a good one out there, but I haven’t found it.  

Nor has the medical community around me encouraged me this way.  They have all felt that the basis of my conditions are not primarily chemical. And this has proven true in the amount of help I have found in non-pharma solutions such as cognitive behaviour therapy, 12-step processes, exercise, and just old fashion “pressing through”.

 

Yet there must be a chemical component because I get revisited at consistent times and under consistent circumstances.  So I consulted a Naturopathic Physician as an exercise in open-mindedness.

Image

My biases feared a “Mother Earth” approach.  A lot of natural remedies, in my experience, are folklore and wishful thinking.  Then again, I have no trust for the mega pharmaceutical machine either.

So off I went to the ND expecting to meet a guy with a beard and birkenstocks.  Well far from it.  He was a soft-spoken southeast Asian fellow who proposed a couple of possible reasons why I battle these two enemies at certain times and under certain circumstances.

Complete with diagrams of science-supported process of brain chemistry.  Then, rather than tell me he had the answer, he proposed a first approach to address the most likely cause of my symptoms.

It was simple, and rather than some crazy hemp suppository, he recommended a few simple supplements that, in fact, my regular Dr. could prescribe so my health benefits would cover them.  None of them were patented, commercial pharmaceuticals.

For the past two weeks, I have felt better.  Go figure.

Is it the placebo effect?  Could be.  Time will tell.  But Just for Today, I feel better.

Ciao.

 

Chaz

About Chaz

Husband, father, brother, son, friend. Sober member of AA. Grateful for the life God gave me and for the happy struggle of recovery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Anxiety and Depression

  1. risingwoman says:

    Man, I hate to ‘like’ a post like this (it feels like I’m saying, “Depression and anxiety dropped by and said hello? LIKE!” But what I mean is, I’m supporting you, and I’m keeping you in my thoughts.

    • Chaz says:

      Thanks Rising….. I would not take your “like” the wrong way. I appreciate the support. Part of how I deal with my version of A and D are to blog about it and not give it a chance to burrow any deeper into my thinking. Gladly, progress has been made!

  2. Tommy Simpson says:

    When I quit I did not know what to do. Everything I had been doing had something to do with drugs. For some time I was like a person who lost something, and they do not know what they lost. I then took up Shaolin Kung Fu to have something to do. The instructor was not very much into the fighting aspects of it, as he was the healing aspects. I stuck it out and it turned out to be one of the best decisions I made. I still am not a good fighter, and will only fight when forced to. It replaced my drug use.
    I guess what I am saying is almost anything can be good therapy, because you have got to find something which will help fill the hole in you left by the addiction you quit.

    • Chaz says:

      Hi Tommy…. yes, occupying our minds and time with something healthier is always good. I used to give in to the feeling of need to isolate and remain emotionally paralyzed. Activity is one of the non-pharmaceutical remedies I have been working with over the years to combat my A and D. I can imagine something as in-depth as Kung Fu could give you lots to focus on and occupy yourself with… emotionally and physically. Thanks as always for the encouragement.

  3. Daisy says:

    Can I ask what the supplements were?

    • Chaz says:

      Hi Daisly…. I have been taking Tryptophan at night time which my Naturopath indicates metabolizes into seratonin…. apparently many of us who deal with depression have a deficit of seratonin…. especially at night. I am also taking some amino acid chains and vitamin B. Vitamin D has been prescribed as well but I haven’t added it yet. Glad to report that for whatever reason, since being on this regimen, I have felt better. Not perfect, but better.

  4. JR says:

    Chaz, will u be sharing what it was that helped relieve your depression and anxiety? Thank you.

    • Chaz says:

      Hi JR…. Tryptophan at night… plus Vitamin B and Amino Acid Chains twice daily. Was not super hopeful that this would make a difference but it did.

      • Chaz says:

        Oh…. and my wife takes a passion flower extract that is supposed to help with whirling thoughts. I have taken this too from time to time and much to my surprise, it made a difference. I took before bed and slept better. My wife who has been struggling with sleep has found great relief by taking passion flower extract.

  5. jaels says:

    Good news, indeed.

  6. Sometimes it takes a pill to solve issues. I take enough each day to choke a horse. But you know, supplements are coming of age – I hear them on late night radio and people say they work. once we stop the addiction, the body tends to seek the same ends even though we are clean and sober. Damn those synapses !!! I have consulted a Buddhist monk here to get some advice for feeling better. China town is well known for it healing teachers and practitioners. You know what some AA’ers say about big pharma … I try to stay out of that conversation myself.

    There are so many natural supplements out there that can do what big pharma can’t I don’t see why you can’t ask around. Why pay some quack to tell you you are add or something and he has a little purple pill to cure what ails you ! Know they self. Eastern practices are something not many people can avail themselves of. get out there and do some foot work.

    Jeremy

    • Chaz says:

      HI Jeremy… we have a huge Asian representation in our population. There is a groundswell of Eastern medical practices becoming available here. There has to be something to it for it to have lasted as long as it has.

      I am in a strange middle ground of the spectrum between natural remedies and mainstream medicine. I have a great GP who is very open to alternative treatments even though he is not trained in them himself. So I suppose I align with him.

      Thanks for the encouragement.

      Chaz

  7. Lee Darrow says:

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

