A week of “Tough-Minded Optimism”…

I am going through a particularly busy and potentially draining week.  I say ‘potentially’, because I do not believe it has to be draining…. and so far its not.

I have taken steps so far to remain energetic, optimistic, productive, and still functioning in my personal life in spite of the long, intense work days.

One part of my strategy for the seek has been to remain connected daily to positive, inspiring people.  I have had ongoing dialogues with my blog buddy, TK, in his daily posts at http://toughmindedoptimism.wordpress.com/

TK puts it this way…

“I define Tough-Minded Optimism as the determination to focus one’s attention in a self-empowering way independently of external conditions. It is the decision to make creativity, not circumstance, the driving force in one’s life”.

TK’s perspective and undertaking are quite amazing.  Think about all of the things we can be tough-minded about.  A lot of them tend to be negative… grudges, selfish pursuits, harshness toward others.  But being tough-minded about optimism… is that not what it takes in our otherwise negative culture?

Take a moment to check it out.  TK’s style is easy to read, digest, and put into practice.  I have been benefiting tremendously!

Ciao.

Chaz

About Chaz

Husband, father, brother, son, friend. Sober member of AA. Grateful for the life God gave me and for the happy struggle of recovery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A week of “Tough-Minded Optimism”…

  1. T.K. Coleman says:

    Hey bro,

    I appreciate this very much. I’m humbled and honored by the endorsement. I am greatly enjoying and benefitting from our dialogues as well. I’ve had lots of guests and external obligations going on these past few days so I’ve been writing at later times than usual. I’ll be checking in again later tonight or earlier tomorrow. Thanks again for being such an encouraging force in my life.

    Cheers,

    TK

  2. Heidi says:

    Thanks for the tip. Checking it out!

  3. scotty says:

    Thanks for sharing… heading over there now.

  4. Heidi says:

    So, Chaz, how’s the week going?

    • Chaz says:

      Awesome Heidi! Thanks for asking. Getting things done…. one little thing at a time which adds up quickly to a lot! And remainging serene and in the moment (and in the game) through it all thanks to rejuvanating efforts.

      And you?

  5. Heidi says:

    I met a big goal and had two days of “what now”? Now I’m feeling balanced again and ready to see what God directs as the NRT (next right thing). Exciting.

    • Chaz says:

      Amazing isnt it? How we can piece life together one decision to do the next right thing at a time. Perhaps this is what Jesus meant in teach to “take no thought for tomorrow…” and simply let life unfold one in-the-moment, focused decision at a time.

  6. kweenmama says:

    “Tough minded optimism”–I like it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

